Lifetime Achievement

Lifetime Achievement Award

In 2012 the Clark County Arts Commission created the Lifetime Achievement Award to formally recognize an artist who lives or works in the county and has made a significant contribution to the field of Arts and Culture during his or her lifetime.

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Current residency in Clark County or previous longtime Clark County resident
  • Must be 60+ years of age.
  • Active or recently retired in one of these major areas of the arts:  visual artist,  dancer, actor, musician, filmmaker, architect, literary artist, graphic artist, art educator, art advocate.

Criteria and Call for Nominations

  • The nominee(s) is recognized for artistic contributions locally, nationally, and/or internationally. This nomination must include both quantity and quality of descriptions of artistic accomplishments. (Be specific and cogent.)
  • The individual/group demonstrates a personal commitment to the development of cultural life in Clark County. (Be specific and cogent.)

Submission requirements

  • Nominee’s relevant biography, as well as addressing each of these four areas:
    1. Distinguishing service impacting local culture, quality and quantity of personal achievements
    2. Arts advocacy work indicating leadership, inspiration, and innovation
    3. Personal qualities of vision
    4. Initiative, implementation in his or her field
  • Name and contact information of nominating person
  • One personal reference with contact information
  • Any relevant supplemental materials such as:  website, brochures, galleries, studios, published books, videos, films

You may include representative photographs only if the artist does not have a website.
The selection committee will be comprised of current board members of the Clark County Arts Commission.
The deadline date for nominations for the fourth annual award is Sept 11, 2017.
All applicants will be contacted no later than October 25, 2017 as to the status of the application
Please email nomination form to:

2016 Reciopent:  Jim Demetro – Battle Ground Sculpture

2015 Recipient:  No recipient

2014 Recipient: Dr. Don Appert – Clark College Music Director

CVTV interviewed Dr. Appert and Donna Roberge, Chair of the Clark County Arts Commission, on November 16, of 2014. The program can be accessed via CVTV’s website Clark County Close Up (11-16-14).  The CVTV video interview can be found toward the end of the program.

2013 Recipient: Austin Barton


Mr. Barton accepting the award in downtown Vancouver

Mr. Barton, 86, was raised in northeastern Oregon. His work is held in private and corporate collections internationally. Still actively sculpting, he is an inspiration to those around him. A plaque is hung on the wall on the 6th floor of the Public Service  Center building at 1300 Franklin Street.  His family and friends, pictured here, gathered at the October 1st meeting to witness his acceptance of this inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award in 2013.

His bronze work features Western themes and is well represented in the life size monument he created in 2010 for the 100th anniversary of the Pendleton Round-Up pictured below.

CVTV interviewed Mr. Austin Barton and Ms. Patricia LaCroix, Chair of the Clark County Arts Commission, in early August of 2013. The program is airing through September 28th, 2013 but can be accessed via CVTV’s website  and then clicking on the October 1st award presentation titled, Special Presentation: Arts Commission Lifetime Achievement Award . The CVTV video interview starts a few minutes into the meeting after Donna Roberge’s initial remarks.

Mr. Barton is represented by Kelly’s Gallery on Main Street in Joseph, Oregon. You can view more of his work on their website.





(Left to right) Trish Thomas (Yacolt), Pat LaCroix (Battle Ground), Dave Frei (Vancouver), Becky Anstine (Education), Dan Wyatt (Business), Donna Roberge (Camas), Austin Barton, Laurel Whitehurst (County-at-Large), Elizabeth Madrigal (Ridgefield), Amy Chase (La Center)























Any questions about this award or suggestions for future award recipients should be directed to Barbara Wright, Clark County Arts Commissioner, Chair of the Outreach & Lifetime Achievement Award Committee. Clark County residents are encouraged to join any of our commission committees as volunteers.